Who Knew These Holidays Even Existed?


Someone at my work posted a sheet of paper around the office that listed some of the holidays in April. I knew about April Fool’s Day, Easter, and Earth Day, but there were a few holidays listed that I didn’t know. I decided to investigate to see what all holidays, especially to see what holidays that no one really hears about.

There are multiple websites that have a long list of all the holidays. The list at http://familycrafts.about.com/library/spdays/blaprdayslong.htm worked well for me and introduced me to a lot of unknown holidays. I also have to say that it doesn’t include Laugh at Work Week and a few other unknown holidays. By the way, in case you didn’t know, there are daily, weekly, and monthly holidays or celebrations. Many of the monthly celebrations are for awareness. Also, many of the dates recognized are famous birthdays or happenings throughout history.

Did you know that April 3rd is Find-a-Rainbow Day? I sure didn’t. April 10th is National Sibling day. Did you know that Easter is also Pigs-in-a-Blanket Day? I can’t specifically say that every single holiday or celebration exists for sure. As a society, we generally don’t celebrate all the unknown holidays, otherwise you would know them! But searching through all the different days was educational and fun. I can’t wait to see what all celebrations May has in store!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

