Life’s Journey


I recently realized that in order to blog you must post more than once a month. This realization came shortly after receiving a comment from my father on Facebook stating, “Ok, Ms. Short and Sweet. Where are the posts for your blog? You know the idea of a blog is to write and post things for others to read? Lol.” First of all, a fan! I already have a fan! Yay me! Now we continue. After reading this comment, I couldn’t help but smile to myself. He was right! I honestly had no idea how many posts a week or month are required to be considered a “blogger”.

I am going to create a personal goal for myself: post at least twice a week. This goal seems challenging yet attainable. I currently work full-time as a Pharmacy Technician (I was part-time while attending Wright State University and have recently become full-time since graduating), while searching for a new job that will help me begin my career. Therefore, creating a goal of posting every day or every other day seems daunting and impossible. Since my first post, I have continued to like blogging. I have no experience, but I would like to continue to enjoy my mode of self-expression without feeling overwhelmed by it. Just the feeling of having created a blog gives me the feeling of stepping out of my comfort zone, but I want to continue to push myself to become a risk-taker. You may laugh because I describe blogging as risk-taking, but I am not one to skydive or swim with sharks. I believe that every single person needs to find small ways to step out of their comfort zones in order to become a better person and push themselves to always experience new things, to experience life.

Speaking of life, mine has gotten surprisingly harder since graduating. I believed that after graduating, I would suddenly have so much time on my hands that I wouldn’t know what to do with myself. WRONG. I have absolutely no more time than before! If I calculated hours, I am sure I would find an hour here or there that I could use. Overall, I have not gained a plethora of free time. During my college career, I worked thirty hours or more if it was possible and attended at least sixteen hours of classes. I now have a small understanding of what all full-time professionals feel like. I am not saying that I understand what every full-time professional feels like, but I have a full understanding that free time will not just appear out of nowhere. My false perception has given me a lesson that I can remember for the rest of my life: free time does not exist unless I make time for it. I am sure that many of you have come to this realization a very long time ago. It makes me feel cautious yet curious about life once I decide to have kids.

I have researched many types of ways to gain free time and many time wasters. I can confidently identify my time’s black hole, if you will: finding a job. Don’t get me wrong, I am extremely thankful that I have a job. I am thankful for the roof over my head, my clothes, my food, the endless support from my family and friends– for my life. Yet, I crave a job that can use my talents and skills earned through my degree to create a career. Almost all of my free time has been spent searching for jobs that may become my long-term career. It is extremely hard to search for a job constantly when the job market is slim, but I stay persistent and positive. I know that I will find that job that was made for me.

Life is a journey. Even though my life has not taken form quite like I had imagined, I will continue on my journey with or without a new job. I strongly believe that we are the ones that create our own futures; I am going to begin creating mine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

