Hobby Shopping


sewing at the dining room table

Image by pinprick via Flickr

Lots of changes have taken place this summer. The biggest events soon to come. I am still working two jobs, plus my brother moves in to my second bedroom once college starts in order to save money (not to mention he will be paying part of the rent). My sister is also taking classes a few days a week over here and then going home to her job, so she will be here part-time for at least the fall quarter. On top of that we are working non-stop to find Taylor a  full-time job, because I am proud to announce that he just graduated from college with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Management.

With all of these things going on, my family has still determined that I need a hobby. Cleaning the house has been split between Taylor and I, so it is at least somewhat manageable. I record all my Television shows, but right now many really aren’t playing. So, we attempted to brainstorm for something for me to do in my spare time.

I was really looking for something I could do in my spare time that I could set down and resume when I had time. I have begun reading some business books, but the hobby still seems fun. So we brainstormed.

We came up with sewing, working out, scrapbooking, and more. I decided that it had been a while since I had sewn, plus I don’t want to put a lot of money into something I am not sure I will keep doing. Working out I don’t really consider a hobby, but the diet has pretty much gone out the window. To explain it quickly, Taylor got sick. I caught whatever he had, but I wasn’t sick. I only lost my voice completely. I quickly found out that antibiotics with a meat, vegetable, and fruit diet made me feel queasy. Therefore, the diet went out the window. Also, because I had to take three pills a day, it has now made me gain a new habit of eating when I get off work late at night (Ugh). So, I now need to get back on the diet or begin to exercise.

Anyways, my family mentioned that in my freshmen year of college I took at Tai Chi class and loved it. While I don’t want to exercise as a hobby (I think it needs to be a lifestyle), it would be a good start. Plus, I live close to my old college and could take recreational classes for free. I am thinking about doing that as my hobby, but I also am very aware that winter is just around the corner. I am really looking forward to trying it or finding something new, but I am open to possibilities. Feel free to let me know if you have any ideas!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

